Commission is composed of a chairman and two members appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commission operates four hydro-electric plants, two of which are located in the Northwest Territories on the Snare River near Yellowknife, and two in the Yukon Territory on the Yukon River at Whitehorse and on the Mayo River near Mayo, and diesel electric plants at Fort Smith, Fort Simpson, Fort Resolution, Frobisher Bay, N.W.T., and Field, B.C., and a diesel power and central heating plant and water supply and sewerage systems at Inuvik, N.W.T.; the Commission also operates, on behalf of the Department of Northern Affairs and National Resources, a small diesel electric and heating plant at Fort McPherson, N.W.T., and a central heating plant and domestic water supply system at Fort Simpson, N.W.T.

The Minister of Northern Affairs and National Resources reports to Parliament for the Commission.

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation.—This Corporation was established by the Northern Ontario Pipe Line Crown Corporation Act (SC 1956, c. 10) for the purpose of constructing the northern Ontario section of the all-Canadian natural gas pipeline and of leasing, with an option to purchase, this section to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited. The northern Ontario section, which extends from the Manitoba-Ontario border to the vicinity of Kapuskasing, Ont., was completed on Oct. 22, 1958 and is now under lease to Trans-Canada Pipe Lines Limited. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce. (See footnote, p. 102.)

Northern Transportation Company Limited.—This Company was incorporated in 1947 under the title of Northern Transportation Company (1947) Limited, the date being omitted from the name in 1952. Previously a company chartered under an Alberta statute, it has been a wholly owned subsidiary of Eldorado Mining and Refining Limited since that Crown company was established and carries out the business of a common carrier in the Mackenzie River watershed. The Company is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Trade and Commerce.

Park Steamship Company Limited.—After World War II this Company acted as an agent for Crown Assets Disposal Corporation in the sale and delivery to purchasers of government warbuilt ships. This work is completed but the Company remains available to carry out any appropriate duties. It has no staff of its own, any necessary work being done by the staff of the Canadian Maritime Commission (see p. 105). The Company reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Polymer Corporation Limited.—This Corporation was established in 1942 by Letters Patent under the Companies Act and is subject to the Government Companies Operation Act (RSC 1952, c. 133) and the Financial Administration Act (RSC 1952, c. 116). It was set up to construct and operate a synthetic rubber plant which now produces a variety of synthetic rubber products and some chemicals. The Corporation's principal plant is located at Sarnia, Ont., with specialty rubber and butyl plants in France and Belgium, respectively. The Corporation is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Defence Production.

St. Lawrence Seaway Authority.—The St. Lawrence Seaway Authority was established by Act of Parliament in 1951 (RSC 1952, c. 242) and came into force by proclamation on July 1, 1954. The Authority was incorporated for the purposes of constructing, maintaining and operating all such works as may be necessary to provide and maintain, either wholly in Canada or in conjunction with works undertaken by an appropriate authority in the United States, a deep waterway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie. The Authority is composed of a President and a Vice President and reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Trans-Canada Air Lines.—TCA came into being by Act of Parliament in 1937 (RSC 1952, c. 268) to provide for the development of a publicly owned scheduled transcontinental air service. Transatlantic air services were inaugurated by TCA on behalf of the Canadian Government during World War II and scheduled operations were commenced at the end of the War. TCA now maintains passenger, mail and commodity traffic services over nationwide routes and also services to the United States, England, Scotland, Ireland, France, Belgium, Switzerland, West Germany, Austria, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Jamaica, Antigua, Barbados and Trinidad. TCA is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

Unemployment Insurance Commission.—The Commission was appointed on Sept. 24, 1940 under the provisions of the Unemployment Insurance Act, 1940 (RSC 1952, c. 273) for the purpose of administering the Act and providing a National Employment Service. It is composed of three Commissioners appointed by the Governor in Council, of whom one is designated Chief Commissioner. One Commissioner, other than the Chief Commissioner, is appointed after consultation with organizations representative of employers. The Chief Commissioner is appointed to hold office for a period of ten years and each of the other Commissioners to hold office for a period not exceeding ten years. The Commission is responsible to Parliament through the Minister of Labour.